Luke Slott in and around Luxembourg this summer 2011

I would like to express my heartfelt thanks to the Luxembourg Bahá’í Community for a truly inspirational summer school and an unforgettable musical tour of your delightful country and community. The spirit of love and unity at the summer school in Echternach was rejuvenating and its marvelous theme of ‘Art & Beauty’ could do nothing but inspire a sense of limitless creativity and enthusiasm among the friends. This theme made me reflect on the importance of the beautification of our lives and the effect of beauty and creativity on the happiness of our souls.

On a personal level, the activities of the summer school brought me many new experiences, particularly in working with children and junior youth, who even gave me some lessons in Luxembourgish! In preparation for my sessions, my research into the relationship between art and the soul gave me a host of new thoughts and ideas, and for this learning I am very grateful. I often find that I learn new things simply by choosing a goal and working towards it – in this case, choosing a topic for my sessions and then researching the topic. My sincere thanks to the Luxembourg Summer School Committee for inviting me to participate in this uplifting weekend.

After the summer school, I had the honour of spending one week touring around Luxembourg, Belgium and France to present, in the homes of the friends, a musical fireside entitled ‘An Evening of Music & Stories from the Bahá’í Faith’. Each evening, with friends – and friends of friends – gathered in the intimacy of a home, we traveled together on a musical journey through the life and teachings of Bahá’u’lláh and the travels of ‘Abdu’l-Bahá to the West. And each day, as I reflected on this great privilege of freely and safely traveling from town to town to share the Message of the Blessed Beauty with others – a privilege of which our dear brothers and sisters in Iran are so cruelly deprived – these longing words of the Master echoed in my mind…

"O that I could travel, even though on foot and in the utmost poverty, to these regions, and, raising the call of "Yá Bahá’u’l-Abhá" in cities, villages, mountains, deserts and oceans, promote the divine teachings! This, alas, I cannot do. How intensely I deplore it! Please God, ye may achieve it."

To my dearly loved friends in Luxembourg, thank you for this privilege. You are always in my prayers.

With warmest love from Dublin,

Luke Slott

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

