Notes on digital storytelling

  • What does it mean to be a digital storyteller (DST) for you ?

Being or becoming a digital storyteller is for me to engage in meaningful activities with ‘others’ that I may know or may not know, using digital means (audio, video, text, drawings, pictures) to tell numerous stories. In my case it has opened up new ways to share with others what I’m doing and thinking. As a DST I’m able to use digital means to transmit my story often instantly, be it through YouTube or facebook upload from my mobile phone.

  • In what sense do you think that digital technologies modify our approach to narration? According to you, how digital technologies affect narrative practices? (please answer on the individual AND the shared story on voicethread)

At present, my narration is very much guided by the tasks assigned, but through my belief and assumptions and by the context I live and work in. Digital technologies have the potential to affect narrative practices in that you are just able to say more and in a way that is closer to what you want to share. The individual story was in some ways easier to create as I could use available resources and search for new ones. Regarding the shared story, we encountered technical difficulties that in the end made me loose interest in continuing on this project. I guess the right motivation is needed and maybe some consultation about the outcome of the shared story would have helped a lot in creating something meaningful. Hopefully next time around.

  • What is your understanding of community building, sharing or resources and collaboration among tools used (especially voicethread and Ning)?

It’s just extremely exciting to reconnect with someone you met many years ago and has done research on a topic you are currently involved in. this happened to me recently through facebook. Although the now AP M. Karlberg doesn’t use facebook much, I was able to share my interests and ask relevant questions to him via email. This for me is a big motivation. Community building here is a community of shared interests. The limit is internet access and this should be available worldwide. (I haven’t looked up figures that show what percentage of the world population has internet access, or uses new media. Voicethread has great example how a classroom community works with it. Have a look at this digital writing workshop that gives great ideas on existing collaboration tools used. http://voicethread.com/#q.b987651.i5263097 . Ning has been interesting as an experience, but then it all depends what you do with it and what you keep on doing with it. A tool that you don’t use for a while attracts digital dust.

  • How did you experience interaction through a digital story (DS) (comments through voicethread)? What does interacting through a digital story mean to you?

Receiving comments through Voicethread has been a new experience and rich as it relates directly to the picture or comment in question. Acknowledgment is a motivating factor when writing a DS the same as it is encouraging to be able to interact and engage in meaningful interaction.

  • “web 2.0 technologies and storytelling”: how do you feel about this couple after your experience in terms of affordances (potential and constraints?)

It’s the way forward, it’s exciting and it opens new doors in ways of writing digitally to a potential huge audience and it means that it will change the way we will write our stories. On one end it is very specific and direct when you interact with your family and friends and on the other end it is all open with new possibilities and somewhere in the middle you have a bit of both: direct & open. So the potential is enormous (as a related example of new media, although one way: the worldcup can now be seen in 3D and it looks amazing) and I see constraints only in the fact that people are prevented access from new media for economic, social and political reasons.

  • What do you think that you have learned through this course (in various levels: structuring a narrative, selecting, mixing and displaying resources, learning from and to others, communicating with your group and with foreigners…)

I’m glad I took the course and I learned a few things. Communicating through digital media requires a certain amount of tact in order compensate for the lack of ‘real face-to-face’ interaction. In many ways it has been an introduction and I would think that using our digital space at the university a bit more with others to create and write stories would be helpful and would encourage us to structure our collaborative work. When I select, mix & display resources, it is clear that legal issues become somehow relevant and I forgot which academic focused on this issue when he said that our kids today are completely in illegality when the use the net, download music, pictures, take them, remix them and share them. What I read is that much of what humans create becomes public good. More discussions and observations on this point seem interesting. I’ve learned to listen to others and learn from them ways of doing things and being patient, leaving space for creativity and unexpected results. I’d like to conclude with the message sent to my orange group.

Dear people,
as I complete my task with our professor, I just wanted to say that it was a pleasure being able to exchange some thoughts with you. Deep inside, I believe we are all interconnected and should be friends.
The earth is but country and mankind its citizens. (from Bahá’í writings)
Let us work together to make this place called earth a better place!
Hope to read, see and interact with you at some stage.

2 thoughts on “Notes on digital storytelling

  1. Precisely how long did it take you to post “Notes on digital
    storytelling | Jean-Marie Nau’s Blog”? It seems to have a bunch of beneficial info. Thx ,Ethel

Leave a Reply

